List entry

List entry Summary

This building is listed under the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990 as amended for its special architectural or historic interest.

Name: TREGOTHNAN

List entry Number: 1141069

Location

TREGOTHNAN

The building may lie within the boundary of more than one authority.

County District District Type Parish
CornwallUnitary AuthoritySt. Michael Penkevil

National Park: Not applicable to this List entry.

Grade: I

Date first listed: 28-Feb-1952

Date of most recent amendment: 27-Nov-1985

Legacy System Information

The contents of this record have been generated from a legacy data system.

Legacy System: LBS

UID: 62907

Asset Groupings

This list entry does not comprise part of an Asset Grouping. Asset Groupings are not part of the official record but are added later for information.

List entry Description

Summary of Building

Legacy Record - This information may be included in the List Entry Details.

Reasons for Designation

Legacy Record - This information may be included in the List Entry Details.

History

Legacy Record - This information may be included in the List Entry Details.

Details

In the entry for

SW 84 SE ST MICHAEL PENKIVEL

4/69 Tregothnan (formerly listed as Tregothnan 28.2.52 House)

The whole description shall be amended to read

SW 84 SE ST MICHAEL PENKIVEL TREGOTHNAN PARK

4/69 Tregothnan (formerly 28.2.52 listed as Tregothnan House)

GV I

Great house. 1650, 1818-18, 1845-8. By William Wilkins (2nd build) for the fourth Viscount Falmouth and Lewis Vulliamy (3rd build) for the second Earl of Falmouth. Freestone ashlar of two distinct types, a soft yellow Newham stone (Truro porphyry) for the earlier work and a fine hard grey limestone (Pentewan stone) for the later work, lead and slate roofs mostly hidden. A long range with a central spine corridor in a picturesque Tudor gothic style designed by Wilkins and extended in like manner by Vulliamy who greatly increased the pic- turesque effect. Two storeys with three tall towers and with some attics hidden behind parapets. Many mullioned and transomed windows of one to five lights with hood moulds. String courses. Battlemented throughout with decorative panelling. Many tall Tudor terracotta and stone stacks of different designs adding to an extremely picturesque outline. ENTRANCE (NORTH) FRONT: from left to right: (a) Bay added by Vulliamy, (b) three bays by Wilkins, the centre one of which projects as a two storey pointed arch porch and behind this is the four storey tower containing the staircase, (c) three storey tower with canted bay on ground floor added by Vulliamy, (d) two bays of Wilkins work, (e) two storey projecting entrance porch added by Vulliamy, (f) kitchen range connecting through to the office court (qv). THE EAST FRONT is chiefly Wilkins work with an addition ((a) above) to the right by Vulliamy. THE GARDEN (SOUTH) FRONT from left to right: (a) Projecting single bay wing with crow-stepped gable added by Vulliamy, (b) Five bays with much plainer single and two light windows which is a reworking of the 1650 house, (c) Irregular eight bay range of Wilkins' work slightly projecting and with an eight light bay window to right. INTERIOR two rooms of the 1650 house survive. The common parlour has oak panelling, a chim- ney piece with caryatids and a geometric and foliated, moulded rib plaster ceil- ing of similar period but with narrower ribs and more emphasis on floor display. It has a particularly fine fireplace overmantel with painted panel, drapery festoons and bolection mouldings. It is not known how altered these rooms may be from their original appearance. Wilkins' work is mainly in the Greek taste and of fairly restrained design but good quality workmanship. The ballroom and drawing room are said to be the finest of these. The stairhall is in the Gothic mode and would appear to have been influenced by Wyatt's at Ashridge. The staircase is a cantilevered Imperial with a cast iron balustrade incorporating trefoils and quatrefoils. The hall is lit by a clerestory with three 3-light windows on both sides of the tower, and separated from the upper corridors by Gothic screens. The ceiling is compartmented with elaborate heraldic decorations. Nothing is known of the vulliamy rooms. The interior was not accessible at the time of resurvey and the description has been made from photographs. A full interpretation of the building was not possible and the extent of the survival of the 1650 house remains uncertain. Both north and south fronts of the 1650 section were refaced in grey Pentewan stone in the mid C19 which to some extent continued the original appearance remarked upon by Celia Fiennes in 1695 'The house is built all of white stone like the rough coarse marble'. It is also uncertain as to how much of the picturesque deco- ration of the exterior may be an addition of Vulliamy's for the more romantic outline he gave to the building. It is reputed that there are many original drawings and accounts in the house but these are inaccessible. The house is increased in value by its exceptionally fine natural setting. The 1650 house was visited and described by Celia Fiennes, cousin of Hugh Boscawen the builder and it was also the home of Admiral Boscawen in the C18.

Sources: Colvin 2nd ed 1978 pps 859 516 Hussey C Country Life 17 and 24 May Pevsner BOE 2nd ed 1970 p224 1956 Information from Estate Office

------------------------------------

SW 84 SE ST MICHAEL PENKIVEL TREGOTHNAN PARK

28.2.52 Tregothnan 4/69 (formerly listed as Tregothnan House)

GV I

Great House. 1650, 1816-18, 1845-8. By William Wilkins (2nd build) for the fourth Viscount Falmouth and Lewis Vulliamy (3rd build) for the second Earl of Falmouth. Freestone ashlar of two distinct types, a fine hard grey (Truro porphyry) for the original build and a softer yellow for the later work, lead and slate roofs mostly hidden. A long range with a central spine corridor in a picturesque Tudor gothic style designed by Wilkins and extended in like manner by Vulliamy who greatly increased the picturesque effect. Two storeys with three tall towers and with some attics hidden behind parapets. Many mullioned and transomed windows of one to five lights with hood moulds. String courses. Battlemented throughout with decorative panelling. Many tall Tudor terracotta and stone stacks of different designs adding to an extremely picturesque outline. Entrance (north) front from left to right: (a) Bay added by Vulliamy (b) three bays by Wilkins, the centre one of which projects as a two storey pointed arch porch and behind this is the four storey tower contain- ing the staircase (c) three storey tower with canted bay on ground floor added by Vulliamy (d) two bays of Wilkins work (e) two storey projecting entrance porch added by Vulliamy (f) kitchen range connecting through to the office court (q.v.). The East front is chiefly Wilkins work with an addition (a above) to the right by Vulliamy. The Garden (south) front fron left to right:-

(a) Projecting single baywing with crow-stepped gable added by Vulliamy (b) Five bays with much plainer single and two light windows which is a re-working of the 1650 house (c) Irregular eight bay range of Wilkins' work slightly projecting and with an eight light bay window to right. Interior two rooms of the 1650 house survive. The common parlour has oak panelling, a chimney piece with caryatids and a geometric and foliated, moulded rib plaster ceiling with central pendant, the room over the common parlour has a ceiling of similar period but with narrower ribs and more emphasis on floral display. It has a particularly fine fireplace overmantel with painted panel, drapery festoons and bolection mouldings. It is not known how altered these rooms may be from their original appearance. Wilkins' work is mainly in the Greek taste and of fairly restrained design but good quality workmanship. The ballroom and drawing room are said to be the finest of these. The stairhall is in the Gothic mode and would appear to have been influenced by Wyatt's at Ashridge. The staircase is a cantilevered Imperial with a cast iron balustrade incorporating trefoils and quatrefoils. The hall is lit by a clear storey with three 3 light windows on both sides of the tower and separated from the upper corridors by Gothic screens. The ceiling is compartmented with elaborate heraldic decorations. Nothing is known of the Vulliamy rooms. The interior was not accessible at the time of resurvey and the description has been made from photographs. A full interpretation of the building was not possible and the extent of the survival of the 1650 house remains uncertain. Both north and south fronts of the 1650 section remain faced in the distinctive white stone (Truro porphyry) remarked upon by Celia Feinnes, and quite different from the rest of the house, so it may indeed be the original facing at least in part. It is also uncertain as to-how much of the picturesque decoration of the exterior may be an addition of Vulliamy's for the more romantic outline he gave to the building. It is reputed that there are many original drawings and accounts in the house but these are inaccessible. The house is increased in value by its exceptionally fine natural setting. The 1650 house was visited and described by Celia Feinnes, cousin of Hugh Boscawen the builder and it was also the home of Admiral Boscawen in the C18.

Sources:- Colvin 2nd ed 1978 pps 859 516 Pevsner BOE 2nd ed 1970 p 224 Hussey C Country Life 17 and 24 May 1956.

Listing NGR: SW8576741571

Selected Sources

Books and journals
Colvin, H M, A Biographical Dictionary of British Architects 1600-1840, (1978), 859 516
Pevsner, N, The Buildings of England: Gloucestershire: The Cotswolds, (1970), 224
'Country Life' in 24 May, (1956)
'Country Life' in 17 May, (1956)
Other
Register of Parks and Gardens of Special Historic Interest in England, Part 8 Cornwall and Isles of Scilly,

National Grid Reference: SW 85767 41571

Map


© Crown Copyright and database right 2014. All rights reserved. Ordnance Survey Licence number 100024900.
© British Crown and SeaZone Solutions Limited 2014. All rights reserved. Licence number 102006.006.

This copy shows the entry on 23-Nov-2014 at 12:13:30.